ANMS transparent

The Acadia New Music Society, co-directed by Derek Charke and Mark Hopkins, promotes contemporary concert music in the Annapolis Valley of Nova Scotia. The scope of the Acadia New Music Society’s activities has blossomed over the past decade. We have successfully presented eight new music festivals (including over 48 concerts), initiated the creation of three CD’s, and hosted multiple composers, musicians, and ensembles. Most of all, we have presented a fantastic collection of Canadian artists over these years.

For more information, please contact:

Derek Charke
Mark Hopkins

Visit us at:

Unknown Connect with us on Facebook!


The Acadia New Music Society (ANMS) exists to promote new concert music to the public, bringing great new music to 21st Century listeners. ANMS promotes new concert music through live performance, recorded media, and has presented eight successful new music festivals over the last decade. ANMS gives a voice to the music of established and emerging composers through creation and dissemination of new concert music. The role of our organization within our community on the music milieu and audience is unique. We feel that our mandate is critical in connecting established professional musicians with emerging voices, the great composers and performers of the future.


Type of Incorporation:
Non-Profit Society incorporated September 29, 2008
Directors: Derek Charke & Mark Hopkins
Officers: Pauline Dong, Jeff Hennessy, Sally Hopkins
Employees: None
Geographic Location: Annapolis Valley, Nova Scotia (based in Wolfville/Kentville)


Over the past decade the Acadia New Music Society has built a dedicated audience within the Annapolis Valley, largely through our Shattering the Silence new music festival. Our activities have also included three successful CD recordings, including: (1) "Live Wired" featuring Janice Jackson, Tristan DeBorba, Simon Docking, our resident ensemble, now known as WIRED!, and the Acadia University Wind Ensemble, conducted by Mark Hopkins; (2) “Between the Shore and the Ships” featuring Helen Pridmore and Wesley Ferreira (winner of two ECMA Awards); and (3) “Kitchen Party” (winner of two ECMA Awards) featuring Derek Charke and Mark Grant Adam, performers. Collectively, these discs contain music by more than 12 Atlantic region composers, all commissioned by the ANMS.

We have commissioned many regional and Canadian composers including: Bob Bauer, Jerome Blais, Derek Charke, Jeff Hennessy, Scott Macmillan, Sandy Moore, Michael Parker, Peter Togni, John Plant, Anthony Genge, Jim O’Leary, and Steven Naylor. Featured musicians have included Mark Adam, Norman Adams, Simon Docking, Jennifer King, Barbara Pritchard, Christianne Rushton, and many others. Guest ensembles have included Sanctuary and Motion Ensembles, and the resident NBG Ensemble, created specifically for the festival. Events have been presented in partnership with the Acadia Performing Arts Series, Acadia University School of Music, the Al Whittle Theatre in Wolfville, Grand Pré National Historic Site, and the Halifax Farmers Market.

The Acadia New Music Festival has been presented eight times since 2006 for a total of approximately forty-eight new music concerts. Principal guest artists have included Jeffrey Zeigler, cellist, and the Blue Engine String Quartet (2015); Allan Gordon Bell, composer, SubText, and Fifth Wind Woodwind Quintet (2014); Michael Colgrass, composer and Quasar Saxophone Quartet (2013); Hildegard Westerkamp, composer and Steven Naylor, composer (2011); Zorana Sadiq, mezzo-soprano (2010); Russell Hartenberger, percussionist (2009); Rodney Sharman, composer (2008); Chenoa Anderson, flutist and Eugene Cormier, guitarist (2007).

The Acadia New Music Society gratefully acknowledges the support of Arts Nova Scotia, the Canada Council, the SOCAN Foundation, CBC Radio 2, Kings County, Acadia University, the Canadian Music Centre’s New Music in New Places initiative, and many others.
© 2015 Acadia New Music Society